Protecting your pets!

These 4-legged furry friends are extended family to most of us, right? They are just about as much work as having human kids. You have to think of them all the time. If you’re traveling, having guests visit, you always have to think about your pets, right? If you notice flaky skin, upset stomach, lethargy, you’d get them to their vet to help them feel better. Just like human kiddo’s. So, how do you protect your pets?

Iphone 07.09.14 288

Heartworm prevention is something that is so simple and easy, yet so many people slack on it. Usually your vet will give you a prescription for a whole year. Then you can purchase it from a discount site online…I recommend Dr. Fosters & Smith. When it’s not flea season, I buy just Heartguard (instead of Sentinel). I feel like it’s less chemicals going into their system plus it’s cheaper, and (knock on wood) I haven’t had an issue with this method yet. I never miss their heartworm prevention! If you are in FL, you KNOW  how bad the mosquitoes get. It takes just ONE infected mosquito to bite your dog, for him/her to then be infected with heartworms. And take it from me, and Annie, heartworm treatment SUCKS! It is no fun. Having to put Annie in her crate just because she is being too playful, is so sad. And it makes me think how awful it would be with either of my dogs, who are much more energetic than Annie. Anything that gets their heart pumping could kill them, while going through treatment. Plus, it’s expensive! So, why not protect you pet and your bank account, and just keep up with the heartworm prevention in the first place!

Annie5

Another way to protect your pets is by making sure your home is safe for them. I have said many times before that I am a big believer in crating. I think certain dogs need a crate. Whether it is to keep them out of trouble, or to allow them to feel safe in their own space. If you leave your dog out loose, do you check your home before leaving? Do you know what peaks your dog’s curiosity? I leave Lucy out loose, and I know the only thing she’ll get into is food and napkins (she likes to shred them). So before leaving, I always survey the living room and kitchen, areas that she has access too, to make sure there is nothing she’d get into. This is something I’ve randomly done, never really vigilant about it….until I came across this website…I’m not sure how I even found them, and the majority of their posts are extremely sad and tragic, but it always reminds me to make sure my pups are safe. It’s a facebook page called Prevent Pet Suffocation. This page strives to bring awareness about the risk of potato chip bags (and other plastic type bags). These bags are extremely dangerous to our curious pets, because once a pet sticks his head inside the bag, it acts as a vacuum and the pet can’t get his head back out, and the pet then dies of suffocation. Sad and gruesome, I know, but it’s a reality…and I really think it’s important to help spread the awareness about this. So please, take a moment to “like” their facebook page. If you don’t want to see their sad posts, you can unfollow so that it doesn’t show in your news feed. However, while they are sad, they are also a regular reminder to protect my pets from letting the same happen to them.

https://www.facebook.com/PreventPetSuffocation

How do you protect your pets? I’d love to hear of more ways that we can all keep our pets healthy, happy, and safe!

PS-Would you please click the link below & vote for Lucy and Oscar? They are in a photo contest, and it just takes a click of a button to vote for them! If we win, I get a $100 gift card to a cute online store! CLICK HERE TO VOTE: http://bit.ly/1N4pxj4

10958988_749341348507297_6455656233316253761_n

Have a great night, friends! 

xoxo

This entry was posted in All of my posts! and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Protecting your pets!

  1. colinandray says:

    Great post. As our Ray came to us with Stage 2 Heartworm, we have been through the process and in fact I will be doing a Post on it in a few days. Heartworm must be taken seriously.

  2. Thank you so much, Rebecca, for your timely and informative blog post on preventing pet suffocation! Spreading awareness about this pervasive problem is imperative to saving our dogs’ lives! And, yes, though some of the posts are sad to read about, many are inspiring and daily reminders of how we need to be vigilant to protect our pets from things so seemingly innocuous like a chip bag or cereal box liner. Please visit my website for more information on how to prevent pet suffocation. Thank you! http://www.preventpetsuffocation.com

Leave a Reply

