a “Thank You”

If you are my “real life FB friend” then you already know this story since I shared it last night, but I wanted to share with the rest of my blogosphere friends too!

I volunteered for awhile at the local shelter, but I haven’t been there since April! Before that, I was going every other weekend, usually on Saturday and Sundays. Time just got away from me with being busy with every day life, my own dogs, the rescue….and I just didn’t make it back to the shelter. I had a really hard time never knowing what happened to the dogs that I loved there. As a foster parent with the rescue, I get to choose who my dog goes to. With the shelter, you have no say. I’d walk out each day, never knowing if the dog I spent time with would be adopted, by a good or bad person, or even put down. It was really hard on me, especially because of my love for the bully breed and the shelter always being overcrowded with them. In fact, in the blog post that you’ll see mentioned below, was a dog named Ruby. She is part of the reason I started to volunteer less and less at the shelter. She was so terrified. I never even got to pet her because she wouldn’t move from the corner. I networked for her, and tried so hard to find a rescue that would take her. Then one day I called to check on her, and she had been put down. I was heartbroken and cried my eyes out…for a dog whom I had never even touched.

I still share the shelter dogs from time to time, along with dogs from a few other local rescues. Networking is so important and DOES save lives! Last night, I got proof of just that!

I received the nicest message on my Tails of a Foster Mom FB page, from someone I have never met in person, never talked to, and never even knew she saw my blog. Here is what she said:

“I wanted to tell you thank you. You don’t know me, but you are one of the reasons that I ended up adopting my dog. In June 2013 you posted some pictures on your blog of the dogs from the Tallahassee Animal Shelter and I don’t remember how I came across it exactly, but I ended up looking at a picture of one particular dog who would stick his paws under the kennel door so that people would pet him as they passed. His name was Kail. I had been looking into getting a dog for some time, so I thought I could go look at him. Needless to say we fell in love instantly and he came home with us a day later. A year and a half later and he’s still the best thing ever. His name is now Anaximander (Nax for short) and he has a cat brother and a doggie I think it was fate that I ended up looking at your blog that day and I thank you for taking that picture and posting it for the world to see. Nax is now the happiest dog on earth, and spoiled rotten every day. I just thought you would like to know that you were the reason that a loving dog that was tossed aside got his second chance and is living life again. Thank you so very much, Lindsey and Anaximander”

Kail1

Picture courtesy of Lindsey and Nax!

Kail2

Picture courtesy of Lindsey and Nax!

 

I just cannot explain how much this message meant to me! I recognized her pup as soon as I saw his beautiful mug, and am so happy to hear of the wonderful life he is living! Sometimes it feels like it’s pointless, to do all of this rescue work, when there are still so many backyard breeders, abusers, and homeless pets. Thanks to Lindsey’s sweet message though, I feel renewed in my passion to keep trying to make a difference in the lives of these animals.

Thank you to all of you who read my blog, share adoptable dogs, and advocate for these wonderful animals. And a BIG thank you to Lindsey for sharing her story. Happy living, Lindsey & Nax!!!

To see my original post, where Lindsey first saw Nax (previously Kail), click HERE!

Don’t forget to encourage your friends & family to adopt, when they are looking for a new furry friend!

Tallahassee Animal Shelter’s adoptable pets: http://www.talgov.com/animals/onlinekennel.aspx

Last Hope Rescue’s adoptable pets: https://www.facebook.com/LastHopeRescueFL/app_137541772984354

Have a great day, friends! 

xoxo

This entry was posted in Adoptable Dogs!, Adoption Stories, All of my posts! and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to a “Thank You”

  1. Lenore Feldman says:

    All of you Rescue folks are heroes! And you, Rebecca, make a huge impact in this way…This story was a great way to start my day! Thank you for sharing it with us.

  2. I just love your post…I am so happy that heard from Nax and his mom….how rewarding and reassuring that every effort made to rescue animals matters. I too foster, have two fosters in my home now…I do it because I love it and like you I get discouraged working in a shelter environment where too many are lost to us forever. Rescue On!

  3. Yay, that’s a great message to receive!

  4. OhMelvin says:

    Gahhhhhhhhhh!!!! Love it!

  5. Debbie says:

    That made me tear up! Keep up the good work!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

