Preventing Tragedies

As we are coming to the end of the summer (haha wishful thinking for us Floridians!), I am glad I will have another year before seeing daily posts about “Don’t leave your pets in the car”! It is nonsense to me that we even have to spread this information around. I know some people don’t have common sense, but this seems like something everyone should just KNOW. I mean, think how you complain about how hot your car is after it’s been sitting for awhile; or how touching the steering wheel burns your hand; and how you blast the a/c to try to cool off. We do all of this, while we are sweating, which is our body’s way of cooling us off. So how do you think our pet feels in that said car, when they don’t have the ability to cool off by sweating? Doesn’t everyone know this? Ok, sorry, got off on a rant there….so anywho, these posts always get me thinking, how do I keep my pups safe?

There are the obvious ways, like giving them monthly heartworm prevention, taking them in for their annual vet check up. But how else do you make sure they stay safe?

These are some ways that I protect my pups:

-I crate Oscar. This is 100% for his safety. He is curious and sneaky. I KNOW he will get into things if I leave him out unsupervised. If there is food, he will find it and eat it. I would also never want him and Lucy to get in a fight over something, so crating keeps them protected. Lucy doesn’t get into anything. She doesn’t bark. She has no separation anxiety. She is as good as gold. So, she gets to be loose in the house, while Oscar is crated. This is not a punishment to Oscar. He doesn’t know any different. He has always been crated, and as you can see below, he obviously doesn’t mind it! I have heard TOO many horror stories about dogs who have grown up together, being left out loose, getting in a fight, and an owner comes home to find one of the dogs has been killed. Why would I ever, EVER risk that? I wouldn’t. So, Oscar will always be crated.

As you can see, he's perfectly comfortable in his crate!

As you can see, he’s perfectly comfortable in his crate!

-I don’t buy stuffed toys. Both Lucy & Oscar rip up stuffed toys in minutes. Lucy likes to shred them. Oscar likes to de-stuff them. The stuffing can cause lots of problems if eaten though, including surgery if it gets clogged in their system. The only time I make an exception is right after Christmas. I go to a local pet store & buy a handful of toys from clearance. I go for the absolute cheapest, since I know that they are going in the trash within a few minutes. I go home, get the dogs all excited, dump the toys, and watch them go blissfully crazy! Then, I clean everything up, and it all goes in the trash! Other than that though, I use treat puzzles, balls, kongs, and any sort of kong-made rubber toy. I really love the Planet Dog toys, because they are durable and they smell minty!

I am a Princess. I do not work for food.

I am a Princess. I do not work for food.

-I never leave towels around because Lucy is a shredder. I know Lucy’s one bad habit is that she shreds things. She only does it if she is left alone, and it’s only to towels. So, I know to never leave a towel out. One, because I don’t want my towels to die. Two, because I don’t want her to end up eating any of it.

Why you tellz people these liez about me? I iz perfect princess. You sayz so all the timez.

Why you tellz people these liez about me? I iz perfect princess. You sayz so all the timez.

-I factor in the weather conditions, and allow outside play and exercise accordingly. Do you now how quickly a dog can suffer and die from heat stroke? Within minutes! Did you know that some breeds, like boxers, bulldogs and pugs, are more prone to suffering from heat stroke? This is because of their snout, and their inability to take in enough air. I am super careful with Lady Symone when it comes to this. She loves to sunbathe on the deck, but as soon as I see her panting, I make her come back inside. It’s important to know the signs of heat stroke, and knowing how to quickly react might save your dog’s life! Here’s a great website with some helpful information: PetMD

Symone2

These are just a few of the things I do to keep my pups safe on a regular basis. What are some things you do, to keep the fur babies free from harm? Please share! I’m sure I will learn some new things, so I look forward to hearing from you!

Goodnight Friends! 

xoxo

This entry was posted in All of my posts! and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Preventing Tragedies

  1. Those are some awesome tips! I think the biggest thing for me when it comes to keep Ru safe is never leaving him unattended outdoors – even in the yard! We just have so many temptations around us, so it’s important I always keep an eye out for him and his wandering hound nose.

    • Thanks! Supervising while outside is a great tip! I definitely have to do that when new fosters come in, because they always seem to find new holes or ways to get out, whereas my dogs don’t care to leave home! Thanks for sharing!

  2. Deb says:

    Good suggestions. I double barrier Ray and Julius if they are home alone, since neither get crated anymore. One may be upstairs and one down so I put gates at the top and bottom.
    Like you, I do give stuffies on a limited basis and under strict supervision.

  3. Kym says:

    My girls are uncrated during the day. To keep them as safe as possible, I lock them out of the bedrooms, where there are pillows, sheets, and comforters to chew and shed (Lola loves to gnaw on fabric). One of the last things I do before I leave for work is to check those doors. If they are not COMPLETELY closed, Yagé can pop them open. The great room where the girls spend most of their day is completely sanitized of chewables. The room is completely clutter free. I have no books, magazines, shoes, cushions, plants, or knick knacks within doggie reach. Rope toys go up (the strings can cause serious intestinal blockages). Any toys that either girl is possessive of (and there aren’t many) get put up. No stuffies unless I am home to supervise and clean up immediately. I put scat mats on my leather couches to keep the dogs off. They have one bed out during the day, big enough for both of them to lay on, and it is a nearly indestructible bed made of sail fabric with double seams. I do everything I can to keep them as safe as possible — but I can’t let them spend 12 hours a day in a crate. It might be completely different with two different dogs — Yagé adores Lola, and Lola is completely non-reactive to other dogs’ bad behavior. I also constantly evaluate their behavior when I am around and watch for any signs that, as they grow older, their behavior toward each other changes.

    • It sounds like you are doing everything right to keep those lovely ladies safe! If Oscar wasn’t so sneaky, and didn’t have food aggression, I could leave him out with Lucy. Lucy never reacts, and he NEVER reacts to her when she is near his food. He does react to the fosters though, so because I know he can be possessive of food, it is just safer to keep him crated. Plus, I work from home, so he isn’t crated all that often anyway. Thanks for sharing the ways that you keep your girls safe! Give them hugs from me & Jayden! xoxo

      • Kym says:

        The best part of it is that I rarely have a lot of clutter to deal with in my Great Room. LOL. Man, I wish I worked from home. Those little girls of mine would be waaaaay more spoiled than they are now. I will give them hugs from ya’ll.

Leave a Reply

