Saturday Blues

Hello Friends.

I went to the shelter today to spend a couple of hours with the pups in need. Unfortunately, due to the holiday weekend I assume, I was the only volunteer there (for the dog side). This means there were tons of dogs, loudly displaying their longing for attention, and just little ol’ me to give them the love that they so badly wanted. That, coupled with the fact that it was extremely hot out, I only ended up walking two dogs. Then I decided to just let them take turns in the big runs, so that I could let a couple dogs out at a time. I also had to help people that were there to browse the pups…and saw two pibble pups get adopted by a very sweet family! Nova

This awesome boy is Nova! As you can see…or NOT see…his ears were cropped in true “pit bull” fashion. On the outside, he is made of all muscle. He has a few scars on his face, too. If you just give him the chance though, you will quickly see that he is a total love bug. I sat down in the shade with him, and he sat down in front of me, staring at me, as if to say “Well?” I patted my lap, and he immediately sat on top of me! He was so happy to be loved on. He is strong, but pretty good on the leash, and he knows “sit.” It broke my heart to put him back in his kennel. Dogs like Nova make me think of my Oscar, and what he must have felt when he sat in the shelter for a month before he was lucky enough to be adopted. I hope Nova gets as lucky as Oscar did…

Pebbles 20140517-133254.jpg

This adorable bundle of joy is Pebbles! If you have a tennis ball, you will be her BFF! She LOVES to play! She is interested in the other dogs in a friendly way, so I bet she’d love to have a doggie friend in a forever home. Her playful manner makes her even cuter in person, too! Unfortunately, black dogs are often over looked in shelters, especially if they have the label of a “pit bull.” I hope someone will see the love that Pebbles has to give, and decides to adopt her soon. She deserves a wonderful home!

Smokey

This guy is Smokey, and he is in desperate need of a good grooming! He’s got a luscious black long coat, with a little bit of gray around his face. He is a 6 year old Cocker, and came in as a stray…strange huh? A 6 year old dog obviously had a home at some point…where are his owners? He is really sweet, and he had a blast running up and down the kennel runs next to one of the other dogs!

Tucker

Is this not one of the cutest, happiest faces you’ve ever seen? This handsome boy is Romeo! He is a big black Lab, although he’s a bit underweight. He is really good on leash, and he likes to be right next to you when walking. We sat down in the shade, and he plopped down as close to me as he could get. He’s got a very sweet nature, and I bed he’d be a great running buddy!

Chanelle3 Chanelle Chanelle2

The beauty of this dog is unexplainable, and pictures just do not do her justice! She has a really soft golden coloring, and she is SO adorable and playful. She was very happy to get out of her kennel, and had so much fun playing with the squeaky ball! I even filled up a bowl with water and poured it on her, since it was so hot, and she was such a good sport, just standing there while I soaked her down. As you can see, she also has a hilarious long tongue…all the better to cover you in kisses with, of course! Her name is Chanelle, and I am certain the lucky person who adopts her will have a lifetime of love and tail wags from her!

Usually when I leave the shelter, I feel like I’ve done my part for the day. I feel like I’ve done a good job, giving love and attention to these homeless dog, who just want a human of their own. Today though, I didn’t feel like that. Maybe it was because there was hardly anyone there, and I knew their barks and whines were going unnoticed. Maybe because I knew there would be very few adoptions this weekend, with so many people celebrating Memorial Day. If I didn’t have my own dogs to get home to, I think I would have ended up being there all day, trying to get to every dog. It’s not their fault that they’re stuck in that shelter. I hate that I can’t do more for them.

So, I came home and snuggled with my own rescue pups. Of course, Lucy is not a cuddler and doesn’t really like to be hugged on. Oscar though, my lil lovable pibble, was happy to take a nap with me. I’m happy he was saved. That he now will live in a cozy home, where he is cared for and loved until the end of time.

"Why she makez me doz these thingz?"

“Why she makez me doz these thingz?”

Don’t forget, my foster dog Tooley is still available for adoption too! She is very sweet, and LOVES dogs! She’s been going to Mojo’s doggie daycare twice a week, and she makes new friends every time she is there. She is getting better on a leash too!

"Help me out here, guyz. Adopt me already so she doesn't keep putting these scary thingz on my headz!"

“Help me out here, guyz. Adopt me already so she doesn’t keep putting these scary thingz on my headz!”

Please consider sharing this post. Networking saves lives, and there are a lot of dogs that need forever homes! Check out the Tallahassee Animal Service Center  and Last Hope Rescue for more adoptable pets!

PS-Vote for Oscar in his quest to become a magazine cover dog! It’s super easy to do. No “like” or personal info needed! Just click on the link, and then click “vote”! CLICK HERE TO VOTE! 

Good night, Friends! 

xoxo

This entry was posted in Adoptable Dogs!, All of my posts! and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Saturday Blues

  1. Reblogged this on 1 Farmerz Daughter's Blog and commented:
    Check out all these awesome dogs waiting for a good home!

  2. Thanks for taking in fosters, going to see the shelter dogs and taking pictures. Lovely dogs, I would love to have one, unfortunately I don’t have a yard. But I love the pictures. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

