Meant to Be?

I don’t particularly believe in things being “meant to be.” Not in relationships, or anything really. I think it’s more like being in the right place at the right time, with a little luck and hard work thrown in the mix. Those are my feelings most days anyway. But every now and then, something happens to make me think otherwise. Maybe there really is such a thing. Maybe everything really does happen for a reason. Let me tell you this little story, and you can decide for yourselves….

So I am sure you all know Pace by now. I have talked about him a few times, and I’ve posted him on the Tails of a Foster Mom FB page. But just in case there is anyone that missed those particular posts, here is the short(ish) version.

Pace is a dog that I met during a random visit to the local animal shelter in September. For some reason, I loved him immediately and I asked to take him out to a run. Jayden and I played with him, and loved on him. He was super sweet, so happy to be out, wagging his tail and giving us both tons of kisses!

photo 5(1) photo 3(1)

 

Unfortunately Last Hope did not have any fosters available, so there was no way the rescue could take him. I visited the shelter a few more times, and also officially became a volunteer…all the while, Pace was there, waiting to be adopted. I heard that there was an ASF board member that had been giving Pace some attention too. She was kind enough to take him home at night from time to time, in order to let him feel the comforts of home life. Anyway, the  shelter offers a training class for dogs that they adopt out, and if a volunteer wants to, they can take a shelter dog as well. This is in hopes of making the dog more adoptable by helping them learn obedience skills. So, I signed Pace up. We attended class on Thursday, and then I visited with him on Saturday when I had a volunteer shift. Then Sunday came along!

I got a call from LHR’s president, and she said that the ASF board member had someone who was willing to foster Pace, if LHR could pull him from the shelter. So, we all connected, got the paperwork completed, and Pace was free!

Pace2 Pace1

 

Pace settled in to life with his foster. I heard nothing but great things from her, about how sweet and funny and loving Pace was. Yup…another person, madly in love…I obviously was not wrong about this dog! So fast forward a week to this past Saturday. LHR was having a bake sale/adoption event, and I offered to take Pace since his foster was unable to.

Pace4

 

Pace was a total hit at the event! Everyone loved on him, commenting how sweet and handsome he is. He was SO well behaved, politely saying hello to all of the people and dogs. He sat nicely, and wagged his tail, and got lots of treats too! I know he isn’t my dog, but I’d be lying if I said I didn’t feel a bit of pride in how good he was!

At one point, there was someone that came to the event to offer to take pictures. So we were taking the dogs one by one to an area where there was grass, and not so much going on. It was Pace’s turn, so I walked him down and the picture taking started. Then, this very nice man came around the corner, and asked me about Pace. I gave him Pace’s story, and he told me about his dog that he recently lost. He said he & his wife were sitting having lunch when he saw Pace go by, and he just had to come meet him. He seemed to be in love already, just as quickly as I had been. He went to get his wife, and as soon as she came around the corner, she had a big smile on her face too. I filled them both in on everything I knew Pace-related. I told them about LHR, and what our adoption policy consisted of. Right then and there, they wanted to adopt, so much so, that they were concerned someone else would come along and steal him away from them! They have already turned in the application, and as long as everything checks out, Pace will be in his forever home in just a few days!

This is a couple that does not follow LHR on facebook. They had never heard of us, and didn’t know anything about our event. The only reason they met Pace was because I brought him to the event, and walked him past the window where they were sitting. A handful of other dogs had walked by them. I had already gotten a ton of great pictures of Pace myself. What if they had never seen Pace? What if they had finished their lunch by the time I brought him down that way? Was this meant to be? Was it fate? Was it just Pace being in the right place at the right time? What if someone else had walked him down there, who didn’t know him like I do? Maybe they wouldn’t have been sold then. This is a dog who sat in the shelter with TONS of traffic, getting over looked day after day after day.  Yet he is in the rescue for ONE week, and now he has an adoption pending! THIS right here, is why I can handle the things I hear and see. THIS is why I absolutely love being a part of the rescue. THIS is why I love dogs. THIS is what makes me have faith that good things come to those who wait…

Pace5

 

This entry was posted in Adoptable Dogs!, Adoption Stories, All of my posts! and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Meant to Be?

  1. keh10e says:

    AMAZING! I am so happy for him to finally find a fur-ever home!

  2. Lenore says:

    So many people think that things that happen are just “fate” but it is never really “just” fate. It started when you visited the shelter and fell in love, when you followed up and made an effort to save him, when you kept him in the front of your mind, and when you made the effort to take him with you that “fateful” day. No, it was not just fate – it was you, making the effort you always make, to save another life with your love. I’m so proud to know you.

  3. Sara says:

    I DO believe that things happen for a reason. That’s why people fall through, so that the right ones CAN. We meet different people in our lives at different timesto learn lessons from one another. Maybe to prepare us for meeting others. To help or grow (them or ourselves)
    I am SO excited for Pace and his new lease on life.
    No matter what one’s beliefs, it’s working.
    You’re on a roll with adoptions, keep up the fantastic work!

    P.s. It was also your blog about Pace that kinda made us friends! 🙂

  4. Kym says:

    I like to think that you just loved him so much the Universe had to listen and cough up the perfect family for him. Paws crossed that it all works out beautifully.

  5. Pingback: Share with me! | Tails of a Foster Mom

Leave a Reply

