Falling in Love, Again.

Hello friends! Happy Tuesday! I hope you all had a great 3-day weekend. We certainly did, although as usual, it wasn’t long enough! One of the things we did this weekend, was visit the local animal shelter. As mentioned previously here, I like to take Jayden up to see the shelter animals from time to time. It is a great reminder of all the dogs (and cats and bunnies) that are in need of homes. It usually sparks a great conversation with my little animal lover about why the animals are in the shelter, who his favorite dog was, what we can do to help, etc. Also, as hard as it is on me sometimes, it makes me feel good to know that these dogs at least got some attention and love. I don’t always fall in love with one, and sometimes it is just a quick visit, walking up and down, saying hello to everyone. Other times, I see one that I particularly like, and I have the staff take them out and we play with the dog in a kennel. This lets the pup stretch their legs, get some fresh(er) air, etc. I also like to take pictures, and share them, since you never know who might come across this post and see a dog that they want to go meet! So, here are some of the dogs that we met:

photo 5photo 3(2)

This adorable little guy is Beethoven! He is a Jack Russel mix, maybe with Corgi or Bassett. He is TINY, and SO very sweet! He was excited to see me and Jayden, wagging his tail, and giving lots of kisses! If you are looking for a small dog, this is your guy!

photo 1(2)photo 2(2)

This sweet girl is Betsy! She is a pittie mix, and came to the shelter as a stray. She has those amazing pittie ears, and was very playful! She was much more interested in Jayden than me…which is so typical of pit bulls. They are nicknamed the “nanny dog” after all!

photo 3These were some teeny tiny Chihuahua puppies, all huddled together, snoring away! They were each taken out multiple times, so I am pretty certain they will be adopted soon. I also got to see their two siblings that were runts, over in a special area away from the other animals. Runt Chihuahuas…talk about T-I-N-Y pups!

photo 2Meet Angel! She is an American Bulldog, and as you can see, she has sweet but sad eyes. She was not happy to be in the shelter, but as soon as I made some kissy noises at her, she came right over for some loving! She is another one that was more interested in Jayden than me. It’s actually amazing to me, just how many of the dogs gravitate towards him!

And now for the one that stole my heart….Pace! This is the guy that got lucky on this visit, and we pulled him out for some play time.

photo 4photo 1(3)

 

I can not explain just HOW adorable he was! In the play kennel next to us, people had a few of the tiny pups out. There was also an entire wall of barking, lunging dogs, behind us. While Pace was curious, he didn’t once bark back or seem stressed at all. He ran around the kennel, jumped up on the bench next to us, and wagged his tail at us.

photo 2(1)He is definitely a strong pup, and needs some training, but what stray dog doesn’t?! Within just a few minutes, he was coming to me, and was hanging out at my feet. I have a feeling he would be very loyal, and bond strongly to his human. He was also great with Jayden. He did jump on me once…it was actually really adorable, because he just randomly turned and looked at me, came running full speed, and jumped on me…I swear, it was like a “OMG OMG OMG LADY THIS IS AWESOME!!!” Jayden and I were both cracking up laughing! Anyway, after the initial excitement, he calmed down and was just exploring. He even let Jayden love on him, and was just so super sweet.

photo 3(1)

I don’t know how to explain it, but if you are in the rescue business, or you frequent shelters, than I am sure you will understand. Sometimes you meet a dog and you just KNOW what an amazing companion they will be. That is how I felt about Pace. He wasn’t phased at all by the craziness going on, and was totally content in his kennel, though just as happy to get some play time with us. I am sure he would be a fantastic family member, and companion for anyone lucky enough to adopt this boy!

photo 4(1)I have emailed the shelter with pictures and my experience with him. They will put the notes on his file, which will hopefully help him find an adopter. I have also emailed his info to local rescues, as well as to my rescue friends, begging people to share him. And now…I am coming to you, to ask the same. If you know of any Australian Cattle dog and/or Pit Bull rescues, PLEASE share Pace! And if you are just a fantastic friend or family member of mine whom I have forced to follow my blog, you can share him too! Whether you share via email, or Facebook, or Twitter, please just share this post. Someone out there MUST want an amazing, sweet, smart dog, and Pace is waiting for them to find him. Remember that this shelter is very full, getting new animals every day, and they are a kill shelter. Pace’s time is limited, so the more shares, the more of a chance he has of getting out of there alive.

photo 5(1)

Also, just to give you an update, I AM still planning on becoming an official volunteer at the shelter! I had the interview, and now I just have to attend their orientation. Unfortunately, the two for September happened to be the two times I will be out of town! So, now I have to wait until October. That doesn’t keep me from visiting though, and the staff members are always very nice and happy to pull a dog out for play time!

Well that’s all for today! As always, thanks for reading! Don’t forget to SHARE!!!

*All of these dogs are located at the Tallahassee Animal Shelter. If you would like more information, click on the dog’s name in this post, and it will take you to the shelter’s link for that specific dog. As of Saturday, 08.31.13, they were all there and available for adoption. Though keep in mind, the status of these dogs can change at any time.

 

This entry was posted in Adoptable Dogs!, All of my posts! and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Falling in Love, Again.

  1. OhMelvin says:

    Love them all! Yay you for making a difference! (Also, did you change your layout or am I just slow? Love it!)

  2. Aw…they are all so sweet!

    It’s so cool that the two of you go and visit the pups and give them a chance to have some time out and about with people for some fun and loving on.

  3. Sheri says:

    Awe – they are all so cute! Great idea to share and hope that someone falls in love. I need to do that. 🙂

  4. Sara says:

    Growing up, I wanted to take in every stray I came across, I guess that just never left me and I’m not alone! After having to turn in a stray (that had an owner) there over the weekend and having adopted out of TASC myself, I decided to fill out a volunteer app as well. It’s great you are also introducing your son into a world of GOOD DEEDS in a world of so many negatives. You make my heart smile, I hope to see you around!

  5. Pingback: Simply Friday | Tails of a Foster Mom

  6. Pingback: Positive Vibes Needed. | Tails of a Foster Mom

  7. Pingback: Is a stray a stray? | Tails of a Foster Mom

Leave a Reply

