Books Galore!

I am a big book lover! I love mystery, romantic, and chick lit. My favorite authors are Harlen Coben, Nicholas Sparks, & Sophie Kinsella. However, I have also come across a few animal-related books lately, so I thought I would share my thoughts….
The Dogs Who Found Me: What I’ve Learned from Pets Who Were Left Behind, by Ken Foster–this book is amazing! Anyone who is a dog lover, should read this! It is easy to read, and the story gets going right away. The author tells many true stories about the dogs he keeps, as well as the dogs he helps rescue. He relates the dogs lives to his own, and it is clear how much he loves the dogs he comes across. Also, a portion of the story takes place in Tallahassee, which made it feel even closer to home for me!
Charlie

Charlie

Michael Vick’s Dogs and Their Tale of Rescue and Redemption, by Jim Gorant–Surely everyone knows about the story of Michael Vick and the dogs that were used for fighting. It is hard to believe that this sort of thing even exists, but it does, and this case opened a lot of people’s eyes. My friend over at Temporary Home, Permanent Love recommended this book to me, and I’m so glad she did! I finished the entire thing in 2 days, because I could not put it down! The book tells the whole story, from busting up the dog fighting, to the rescuing of dogs. It gives a very detailed account of how the dogs were assessed after being saved, which was really interesting to me. These dogs had so many horrible things done to them, and finally, they had the right people on their side. Have your tissues nearby, because there are definitely a few sad endings. It is SO worth the read though!

Joffy

Joffy

Connected Souls: A Dog Story, by Dana Landers–This is a cute short story, based on true events that happened in the author’s life. It is about two very different dogs that found their way into a family, and through both life and death, they each formed a bond that would be cherished forever. It is light, easy reading, and will make you give the doggie in your life a big hug!
Flora

Flora

A Life Worth Living, by Jennifer Probst–This is a super cute short story about a shelter dog, who shares his experiences in his own voice, taking readers from his days of abuse, to the shelter, to a home filled with love. Also, if you purchase this book on Amazon, half of all proceeds will be donated to the local shelter!
Milo

Milo

Chosen by a Horse, by Susan Richards–I am currently reading this book, and I love it! It is a sweet story about an abused and neglected race horse, who is rescued by a broken hearted woman, and how they heal each other. You have probably seen that bumper sticker before that says “Who rescued who?” or the ones that say “My rescue dog rescued me”…this story explains those statements! If you are an animal lover, a horse lover, or in the rescue business, I highly recommend this book. I am sure you will love it just as much as I am!

Nala (picture provided by her foster mom, over @ Unsaidyetunderstood)!

Nala (picture provided by her foster mom, over @ Unsaidyetunderstood)!

So, those are some of my favorite animal books! Do you have ones that you would recommend? If so, please share! I am always looking for a good read!

**All of the dogs pictured in this post are available for adoption through Last Hope Rescue. If you would like details on any of them, please let me know!

This entry was posted in Adoptable Dogs!, All of my posts! and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Books Galore!

  1. Lenore says:

    One of my very favorites is, “The Art of Racing In the Rain”. I forgot the name of the author but if you look up the title, you fill get it. I highly recommend it – even my husband readit!

  2. You should read the book “Unsaid” I got it at a thrift store a while back, and it is one of those books that make you want to laugh and cry and scream and cheer all in the course of a minute! I have it if you want to borrow it! It’s about a wife that dies, but still is on earth to watch her husband, animals, and friends as they go through life and trial to save a monkey. It was the inspiration behind my name “UnsaidYetUnderstood”

  3. ‘A Dog’s Purpose’ by W Bruce Cameron
    ‘Wallace’ by Jim Gorant
    ‘Oogy’ by Larry Levin
    ‘The Big Dog Diaries’ by Lazarus Lake

  4. Becky says:

    Anything by Dr. Nick Trout! I read one in a day, another in 2 days and I’m afraid to start the next one because I need to sleep!

Leave a Reply

