Holy Dragon Breath!

I love my Oscar boy, there is no doubt about that. But, what I do NOT love is his gross, horrible, wretched breath! I promise I am not exaggerating when I say it is so, so bad. I wish this blog had smell-o-vision so I could share the nastiness!!

Can you smell me now?!

Can you smell me now?!

 

I have given him hard bones to chew on, which is supposed to help remove plaque. I give him pieces of ice often, again, in hopes of removing the plaque. I have given him raw carrots. That worked only temporarily. I have also brushed his teeth…which ended up with my finger being chewed on more than anything else!

 

"I don't know what shez talkin bout. I tastez gooood!"

“I don’t know what shez talkin bout. I tastez gooood!”

 

My mom mentioned she uses “natural enzymatic toothpaste which came from Petco”, on her dogs, and that it really helps. A few other tips that I’ve read on various websites are:

-Make your dog chew on Dill leaves or peppermint leaves.

-Simply squeeze a lemon in your dog’s drinking water. Lemon will cleanse his mouth and freshen up his palette.

-have your pup examined by your vet, as sometimes bad breath can indicate an underlying medical condition.

 

Oscar has just recently gone to the vet for a check up, and he’s had the bad breath since I’ve had him, so I don’t feel that it is a medical issue. I may just have to try the lemon in the water! Though I wonder, how MUCH lemony water would he have to drink for it to be effective?!

 

"I don't care what she sayz. I lovez me. I iz perfect."

“I don’t care what she sayz. I lovez me. I iz perfect.”

 

So friends, please tell me, do you have a cure to doggie bad breath?! Share your tips & advice! I am all ears! 🙂 Have a great weekend!

Friday1

 

 

 

This entry was posted in All of my posts! and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Holy Dragon Breath!

  1. I can relate to this post! Mr B’s breath was so bad I could smell it even with his mouth closed; Nandy’s breath smelled like a trash can filled with rotting fish!

    They have good teeth, Mr B’s were cleaned when he was neutered a few months ago. I give them only crunchy treats, 90% of their diet is kibble, they get lots of bone to chew on…still stinky breath. I do brush their teeth and I also bought Dental Fresh to add to their water. I did a bunch of research, this one got a lot of good reviews, claiming to help with plaque and bad breath.

    I have a separate pitcher in the fridge for their water with the additive. The dogs definitely knew the water was different but didn’t refuse to drink it. And while it took a couple of weeks we noticed a major improvement in their breath 😀

  2. Marilyn says:

    A vet told my daughter to use kiddie mouth rinse since it’s not toxic. Dip a paper towel in the rinse and squeeze out the excess. Rub the paper towel all around the dog’s mouth. Should take care of the problem.

Leave a Reply

